Return to Headlines

Congressman Lou Correa Honors 17 SAUSD Women at Annual Women of the Year Awards

Seventeen inspiring and talented women from Santa Ana Unified School District (SAUSD) were honored as 2022 Women of the Year by U.S. Congressman Lou Correa on Saturday, April 23, 2022.

This award honors exceptional women in the 46th Congressional District who have made significant contributions to their community.

Honorees from across SAUSD included teachers, principals, administrators, family outreach specialists, and other school support staff.

Here is a full list of the award recipients:

  • Erika Benavides, FACE Community Liaison, Franklin Elementary
  • Bianca, Barquin, SAUSD Assistant Superintendent of Teaching and Learning Teaching and Learning
  • Evelyn Kirpcichyan, FACE SPECIALIST, FACE
  • Gabriela  Mejia, Office Manager, Washington Elementary
  • Gabrielle Griset, Counselor, Segerstrom High School
  • Jacqueline Sanchez, Social Services Specialist, SAUSD Support Services
  • Maria Lara, Counselor, Segerstrom High School
  • Michelle Dominguez, Coordinator of Community Relations, Community Relations
  • Michelle Sirgy, Teacher, Century High School
  • Nata Shin, Principal, Century High School
  • Patricia Lukoschek, Teacher, Monte Vista Elementary
  • Rosa Borboa, Office Manager, Adams Elementary
  • Rosie De La Torre, Community and Family Outreach Liaison, Santa Ana High School
  • Sandra Torres, Office Manager, Madison Elementary
  • Susana Herrera, Teacher, Century High School
  • Vivian Hanson, Assistant Principal, Madison Elementary
  • Mary Armstrong, Library Media Technician, Madison Elementary
Video of ceremony: