• The Newbery Medal was named for eighteenth-century British bookseller John Newbery. It is awarded annually by the Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


    Newbery Medal Winners, 1922 - Present

    2021: When You Trap a Tiger, written by Tae Keller (Random House Children’s Books, a division of Penguin Random House)
    2020: New Kid, written and illustrated by Jerry Craft (HarperCollins)

    2019: Merci Suárez Changes Gears written by Meg Medina (Candlewick)
    2018: Hello, Universe by Erin Entrada Kelly (Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers)
    2017: The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill (Algonquin Young Readers/Workman)
    2016: Last Stop on Market Street by Matt de la Peña (G.P. Putnam's Sons/Penguin)
    2015: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt)
    2014: Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures by Kate DiCamillo (Candlewick)
    2013: The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate (HarperCollins Children's Books)
    2012: Dead End in Norvelt by Jack Gantos (Farrar Straus Giroux)
    2011: Moon over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool (Delacorte Press, an imprint of Random House Children's Books)
    2010: When You Reach Me by Rebecca Stead (Wendy Lamb Books, an imprint of Random House Children's Books)
    2009: The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, illus. by Dave McKean (HarperCollins)
    2008: Good Masters! Sweet Ladies! Voices from a Medieval Village by Laura Amy Schlitz (Candlewick)
    2007: The Higher Power of Lucky by Susan Patron, illus. by Matt Phelan (Simon & Schuster/Richard Jackson)
    2006: Criss Cross by Lynne Rae Perkins (Greenwillow Books/HarperCollins)
    2005: Kira-Kira by Cynthia Kadohata (Atheneum Books for Young Readers/Simon & Schuster)
    2004: The Tale of Despereaux: Being the Story of a Mouse, a Princess, Some Soup, and a Spool of Thread by Kate DiCamillo (Candlewick) 
    2003: Crispin: The Cross of Lead by Avi (Hyperion Books for Children) 
    2002: A Single Shard by Linda Sue Park(Clarion Books/Houghton Mifflin) 
    2001: A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck (Dial) 
    2000: Bud, Not Buddy by Christopher Paul Curtis (Delacorte) 
    1999: Holes by Louis Sachar (Frances Foster) 
    1998: Out of the Dust by Karen Hesse (Scholastic)
    1997: The View from Saturday by E.L. Konigsburg (Jean Karl/Atheneum)
    1996: The Midwife's Apprentice by Karen Cushman (Clarion)
    1995: Walk Two Moons by Sharon Creech (HarperCollins)
    1994: The Giver by Lois Lowry(Houghton)
    1993: Missing May by Cynthia Rylant (Jackson/Orchard)
    1992: Shiloh by Phyllis Reynolds Naylor (Atheneum)
    1991: Maniac Magee by Jerry Spinelli (Little, Brown)
    1990: Number the Stars by Lois Lowry (Houghton)
    1989: Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices by Paul Fleischman (Harper)
    1988: Lincoln: A Photobiography by Russell Freedman (Clarion)
    1987: The Whipping Boy by Sid Fleischman (Greenwillow)
    1986: Sarah, Plain and Tall by Patricia MacLachlan (Harper)
    1985: The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley (Greenwillow)
    1984: Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary (Morrow)
    1983: Dicey's Song by Cynthia Voigt (Atheneum)
    1982: A Visit to William Blake's Inn: Poems for Innocent and Experienced Travelers by Nancy Willard (Harcourt)
    1981: Jacob Have I Loved by Katherine Paterson (Crowell)
    1980: A Gathering of Days: A New England Girl's Journal, 1830-1832 by Joan W. Blos (Scribner)
    1979: The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin (Dutton)
    1978: Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Paterson (Crowell)
    1977: Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor (Dial)
    1976: The Grey King by Susan Cooper (McElderry/Atheneum)
    1975: M. C. Higgins, the Great by Virginia Hamilton (Macmillan)
    1974: The Slave Dancer by Paula Fox (Bradbury)
    1973: Julie of the Wolves by Jean Craighead George (Harper)
    1972: Mrs. Frisby and the Rats of NIMH by Robert C. O'Brien (Atheneum)
    1971: Summer of the Swans by Betsy Byars (Viking)
    1970: Sounder by William H. Armstrong (Harper)
    1969: The High King by Lloyd Alexander (Holt)
    1968: From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg (Atheneum)
    1967: Up a Road Slowly by Irene Hunt (Follett)
    1966: I, Juan de Pareja by Elizabeth Borton de Trevino (Farrar)
    1965: Shadow of a Bull by Maia Wojciechowska (Atheneum)
    1964: It's Like This, Cat by Emily Neville (Harper)
    1963: A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle (Farrar)
    1962: The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth George Speare (Houghton)
    1961: Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell (Houghton)
    1960: Onion John by Joseph Krumgold (Crowell)
    1959: The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth George Speare (Houghton)
    1958: Rifles for Watie by Harold Keith (Crowell)
    1957: Miracles on Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen (Harcourt)
    1956: Carry On, Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham (Houghton)
    1955: The Wheel on the School by Meindert DeJong (Harper)
    1954: ...And Now Miguel by Joseph Krumgold (Crowell)
    1953: Secret of the Andes by Ann Nolan Clark (Viking)
    1952: Ginger Pye by Eleanor Estes (Harcourt)
    1951: Amos Fortune, Free Man by Elizabeth Yates (Dutton)
    1950: The Door in the Wall by Marguerite de Angeli (Doubleday)
    1949: King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry (Rand McNally)
    1948: The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pène du Bois (Viking)
    1947: Miss Hickory by Carolyn Sherwin Bailey (Viking)
    1946: Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski (Lippincott)
    1945: Rabbit Hill by Robert Lawson (Viking)
    1944: Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes (Houghton)
    1943: Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Janet Gray (Viking)
    1942: The Matchlock Gun by Walter Edmonds (Dodd)
    1941: Call It Courage by Armstrong Sperry (Macmillan)
    1940: Daniel Boone by James Daugherty (Viking)
    1939: Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright (Rinehart)
    1938: The White Stag by Kate Seredy (Viking)
    1937: Roller Skates by Ruth Sawyer (Viking)
    1936: Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink (Macmillan)
    1935: Dobry by Monica Shannon (Viking)
    1934: Invincible Louisa: The Story of the Author of Little Women by Cornelia Meigs (Little, Brown)
    1933: Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze by Elizabeth Lewis (Winston)
    1932: Waterless Mountain by Laura Adams Armer (Longmans)
    1931: The Cat Who Went to Heaven by Elizabeth Coatsworth (Macmillan)
    1930: Hitty, Her First Hundred Years by Rachel Field (Macmillan)
    1929: The Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P. Kelly (Macmillan)
    1928: Gay Neck, the Story of a Pigeon by Dhan Gopal Mukerji (Dutton)
    1927: Smoky, the Cowhorse by Will James (Scribner)
    1926: Shen of the Sea by Arthur Bowie Chrisman (Dutton)
    1925: Tales from Silver Lands by Charles Finger (Doubleday)
    1924: The Dark Frigate by Charles Hawes (Little, Brown)
    1923: The Voyages of Doctor Dolittle by Hugh Lofting (Stokes)
    1922: The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Willem van Loon (Liveright)



Last Modified on February 22, 2021