•  Practice Tests

    What Are They? 

             The Practice Tests allow teachers, students, parents, and the public to experience a Smarter Balanced test. The Practice Tests mirror the year-end assessment: they are similar in format and structure to the actual Smarter Balanced assessments and illustrates the range of grade-specific test questions (and performance tasks). However, the Practice Tests are not adaptive and are not scored.
    For which grades are they?
    A Practice Test is available for each grade level: 3–8 and high school. 
    What Kinds of Questions? 
    The tests include a variety of question types and difficulty (approximately 30 items each in ELA and math), as well as an ELA and math performance task at each grade level. 
    What features do they demonstrate? 
    The Practice Tests include all embedded universal tools, as well as designated supports, including color contrast, masking, text-to-speech items, and language supports (an English glossary, translated glossaries in Spanish, Arabic, Cantonese, Filipino, Korean, Mandarin, Punjabi, Russian, Ukrainian, Vietnamese, and full Spanish translation). The tests also include all accommodations as described in the Smarter Balanced Usability, Accessibility, and Accommodations Guidelines, including Braille, streamlining, text-to-speech and American Sign Language. To experience the text-to-speech functionality, the Secure Browser application is required. 
     Click HERE to go to the Practice Test